Learning how easy it is to make a simple drawstring bag was an exciting revelation for me, and I hope it will be the same for you.  I love to add a home made, heartfelt touch to every gift I give, and learning how to make these quick and simple drawstring gift bags made adding that handmade touch practical in even the most bulk of gift giving experiences: Party Favors!  I am going to be making a simple Valentines Day gift bag, perfect for packing homemade candies into!

I am choosing to use an unbleached muslin that can be found for around $3 a yard at most chain fabric stores.  I like this fabric because it is cheap and has a great natural look to it that can translate to a variety of occasions.

First, cut a rectangle that is 15 inches by 13.5 inches.   (This tutorial is to make bag with a finished size of 10 x 7 inches.   If you want a larger or smaller bag, you can still follow these same steps, just add or subtract fabric from this original cut.)
Photobucket

Fold the top edge (15 inch side) down to make a 3 inch fold and pin, making your bag 10  inches tall.
Photobucket

Sew straight across, close to the edge of the folded fabric.
Photobucket

Leaving a space of about 3/4 inch, sew across again parallel to your first line of stitching.  This space is where you will be lacing through the “string” part of your drawstring bag.  If you plan on lacing through something that is wider than 3/4 inch, such as a wide ribbon, you may want to leave more space.
Photobucket

Now fold your bag in half with the right side of the bag on the inside and pin with the top open.  In other words, whatever you want to end up on the outside when finished should be folded on the inside for this step so that your bag looks inside out.

I have decided to have the frayed edge of this fabric on the outside of my finished bag for decorative purposes so I am folding my bag with the rough edge of my fabric on the inside.  If you do not want your fabric edge showing on your finished bag, then you would fold your bag with the exposed edge on the outside for this step.
Photobucket

Starting at your folded corner, sew across the bottom, pivot at the corner, and sew up the side STOPPING one stitch over the bottom of your two parallel lines of stitching.  To strengthen your bag, back stitch at the end of this line of sewing.  Cut off your thread.
Photobucket

Starting at the top of your bag, sew down the edge again stopping one stitch over the top of your two parallel lines of stitching.  I back stitched all the way back to the top of my bag for structural purposes.
Photobucket

Take whatever string or ribbon you would like to use for your bag and tie it loosely to the end of a large safety pin.  (I have chosen a hemp twine in keeping with the natural look of my fabric.)  Take that safety pin and put it in the opening you have left between the two parallel lines of stitching.
Photobucket

Scrunch as much of the fabric as you can onto the safety pin then hold the pin in place and pull the fabric back over your string.  Do this as many times as you need to until you have moved your safety pin all the way through your bag and pulled it out the other side!   Untie your string from the safety pin.
Photobucket

You should now have your string threaded through your inside-out bag.  You need that string on the outside of the bag!  So find the small hole you left when sewing your sides together and push your string through to the right side of the bag.
Photobucket

Flip your bag right-side out and…  Ta-da!  You have a drawstring bag!  If you chose a fun fabric and a nifty string, you are done right now!  Fill that bag with something interesting and tie a bow!
Photobucket

I want to spruce my bag up a little bit and give it the Valentines Day theme I was talking about at the beginning so I break out a few of my Love themed stamps and stamp pads!  (If you want your bag to be washable make sure to use an ink that is made for fabric such as Versacraft)
Photobucket

I make a decision and stamp my pattern onto the bag.
Photobucket

Wait for the ink to dry before you do anything else or you will smear it all over the fabric!  (I learned this from experience!)
Fill the bag with something fun, and enjoy your beautiful and useful creation!!
Photobucket

